Thursday, April 18, 2024

Myanmar Leader Defeats Trump to Win Islamophobia Award

Aung San Suu Kyi, the foreign minister and de facto leader of Myanmar, has been named the 2017 International Islamophobe of the Year for her country’s atrocities against Rohingya Muslims.

Suu Kyi’s atrocities targeting Myanmar’s Muslim minority are so egregious that she shot past other nominated international Islamophobes US President Donald Trump, French far-right party National Front leader Marie Le Pen, and far-right Dutch party Freedoms Party leader Geert Wildres.

Between 2,000 and 3,000 Muslims were killed in Myanmar’s Rakhine state in the last three days, according to the European Rohingya Council and more than 617,000 Rohingya Muslims were forced to take shelter in neighbouring Bangladesh.

The annual Islamophobia Awards by the London-based Islamic Human Rights Commission hosted the representatives of many NGOs and Muslims. The program started with recitation from the Muslims’ holy book of Quran.

In the “United Kingdom” category, the Islamophobe of the year was announced as Tommy Robinson – the former leader of the fascist English Defense League (EDL) – who is infamously known by his anti-Islam views.

The other candidates in this category were TV presenter and columnist Katie Hopkins, former leader of the populist UK Independence Party (UKIP) Nigel Farage, far-right For Britain Party founder Anne Marie Waters and British Foreign Secretary Boris Johnson.

Fox News also received the ironic award in the “media” category.

The Islamic Human Rights Commission is an “independent, not-for-profit, campaign, research and advocacy organization”, established in 1997.

› Subscribe


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

More Articles