Larijani re-elected as Iran Majlis speaker

Ali Larijani Iran majlis speaker
Ali Larijani Iran majlis speaker

Iranian lawmakers have elected Ali Larijani as the speaker of Iran’s Majlis (parliament) for the third consecutive year.

Larijani was elected as the Iran majlis speaker by getting 187 out of 264 votes cast during the Majlis open session on Sunday. The figure is lower from the 213 votes he received for the position in 2013.

Two other candidates, Ahmad Bakhshayesh from the reformist faction and Bahram Biranvand from the Islamic Resistance Front, received 32 and 26 votes respectively, while 19 lawmakers abstained.

Larijani has been Iran’s parliament speaker since the 8th Majlis started in 2008.

At their Sunday session, the lawmakers also elected Mohammad Hassan Aboutorabi-Fard and Mohammad Reza Bahonar as the first and second deputy speakers, respectively.

Election of other members of the Majlis presiding board, including six secretaries and three supervisors, is also on the lawmakers’ agenda.

The lawmakers are set to elect other eleven members of the Majlis presiding board, including two deputy speakers, six secretaries and three supervisors.

Iran’s ninth Majlis was inaugurated in May 2012.


by Presstv
Emad Askarieh has worked as a journalist since 2002. The main focus of his work is foreign policy and world diplomacy. He started his career at Iran Front Page Media Group, and is currently serving as the World Editor and the Vice-President for Executive Affairs at the Iran Front Page (IFP) news website.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here