Thursday, January 20, 2022

Iran’s Hyrcanian Forests Registered as World Heritage

More Articles

Avatar of IFP Editorial Staff
IFP Editorial Staff
The IFP Editorial Staff is composed of dozens of skilled journalists, news-writers, and analysts whose works are edited and published by experienced editors specialized in Iran News. The editor of each IFP Service is responsible for the report published by the Iran Front Page (IFP) news website, and can be contacted through the ways mentioned in the "IFP Editorial Staff" section.
The Hyrcanian Forests of northern Iran, which date back to millions of years ago, have been added to the list of the World Heritage Sites of the UN Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO).

Known as “living fossils”, the Hyrcanian Forests are the second natural heritage of Iran being added to the global list.

The decision to add Hyracanian Forests to the UNESCO list was made during the body’s meeting on July 5 in Baku.

In a statement, the UNESCO described the “floristic biodiversity” of the ancient Hyrcanian forests in the north of Iran as “remarkable.”

photo 2019 07 06 11 07 56According to the UNESCO, the forests date back to 25-50 million years.

The ecoregion includes the coast along the Caspian Sea and the northern slopes of the Alborz Mountains.

It covers parts of five provinces of Iran from east to west including: North Khorasan Province, Golestan Province (entirely southern and southwestern areas as well as parts of the eastern regions of the Gorgan plain, totaling an area of 421,373 hectares), Mazandaran Province, Gilan Province and Ardabil Province.

Latest article