Saturday, October 1, 2022

Iran Bars MPs from Running for More than 3 Consecutive Terms

Iranian lawmakers have passed a new election bill that bans members of the parliament from running for the position again after serving for three consecutive terms.

The lawmakers passed the bill during an open session on Sunday. “No lawmaker is allowed anymore to run for parliament after serving three consecutive terms,” a report by ICANA said.

The bill has already sparked criticisms inside the parliament.

The opponents maintain that this is the people who should decide who can run for parliament and represent them. A lawmaker said the bill is against Iran’s Constitution and added there is no restriction for running for parliament in the Constitution.

On the other hand, the proponents argue that the bill will pave the way for the entry of young and up-to-date experts to the parliament.

According to the proponents, if people insist on their election of an MP as their representative in the parliament for a fourth term, the MP can run again after a four-year hiatus.

Some political figures in Iran like Rasoul Montajabnia view the bill as suspicious saying it has been approved with a certain political goal. They believe the bill seeks to expel influential figures from the legislature.

To be signed into law, the bill should be confirmed by the Guardian Council.

If confirmed, at least 34 incumbent lawmakers would be banned from running again in the next year general elections.

Parliament Speaker Ali Larijani, Vice-Speakers Ali Motahari and Masoud Pezeshkian, and senior lawmakers Alaeddin Boroujerdi, Nader Qazipour and Javad Karimi Ghoddousi are among the MPs who cannot run for parliament in the next elections.

› Subscribe


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More Articles