Sunday, April 2, 2023

Carlos Queiroz Names Provisional Iran Squad for FIFA World Cup 2018

Iran’s head coach Carlos Queiroz has named his provisional 24-man squad for the FIFA World Cup 2018, which is due to begin in Russia next month.

The Portuguese manager announced his squad for the showpiece in Russia on Sunday, choosing 24 players out of the preliminary 35-member squad. The final squad will be announced to the FIFA by June 4.

Team Melli will soon leave Iran for Turkey to start its preparatory camp, where two matches will be held against Turkey and Greece national teams.

The squad selected by Queiroz includes the following names:

Keepers: Alireza Beiranvand, Rashid Mazaheri, Amir Abedzadeh

Defenders: Ramin Rezaeian, Morteza Pouraliganji, Pejman Montazeri, Majid Hosseini, Milad Mohammadi, Mohammad Khanzadeh, Rouzbeh Cheshmi

Midfielders: Ehsan Haji Safi, Omid Ebrahimi, Saeid Ezatolahi, Masoud Shojaei, Mehdi Torabi, Ali Gholizadeh, Saman Ghoddos, Vahid Amiri, Ashkan Dejagah

Strikers: Reza Ghoochannejhad, Mehdi Taremi, Sardar Azmoun, Alireza Jahanbakhsh, Karim Ansarifard.

Four players, namely Jalal Hosseini and Vourya Ghafouri (both defenders), Seyyed Hossein Hosseini (keeper), and Kaveh Rezaei (striker), have also been put on the standby list.

› Subscribe


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More Articles