Saturday, December 2, 2023

Persepolis Claims Iran Pro League Title for Third Time

Persepolis football team defeated rock bottom Machine Sazi of Tabriz to end nine-year title drought in Iran Professional League (IPL) with three games left until the end of the season.

In the match held in Yadeger-e Imam Stadium, Persepolis defeated the Tabriz based team 2-0.

Ali Alipour opened the scoring for Persepolis just seconds into the match.

Persepolis could have scored more goals in the first half but its strikers wasted their chances.

In the 69th minute, Alipour was brought down in the penalty area and Mehdi Taremi scored Persepolis’s second goal.

Persepolis won the inaugural edition of the IPL in 2001-02 season.

The Reds won the title for the second time in 2007-08 in a dramatic match in Tehran’s Azadi Stadium.

Sepahan is the most decorated team in IPL with five titles.

› Subscribe


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

More Articles