Thursday, January 20, 2022

New Iranian Parliament Opens with Leader’s Message

More Articles

Avatar of IFP Editorial Staff
IFP Editorial Staff
The IFP Editorial Staff is composed of dozens of skilled journalists, news-writers, and analysts whose works are edited and published by experienced editors specialized in Iran News. The editor of each IFP Service is responsible for the report published by the Iran Front Page (IFP) news website, and can be contacted through the ways mentioned in the "IFP Editorial Staff" section.
Iran’s newly-elected lawmakers have held the first session of the Parliament on Wednesday with a message from Leader of Iran’s Islamic Revolution Ayatollah Seyyed Ali Khamenei.

The inaugural session of the 11th Iranian Parliament after victory of the Islamic Revolution was attended by President Hassan Rouhani, Judiciary Chief Seyyed Ebrahim Raeisi, and Secretary of the Guardian Council Ayatollah Ahmad Jannati.

At the opening of the new legislature, Ayatollah Khamenei’s chief of staff took the podium to read a message from the Leader.

In the message, Ayatollah Khamenei has called on the newly-elected MPs to push for the settlement of the country’s economic problems on the basis of the Resistance Economy policies.

Describing “economy and culture” as the immediate priorities in the current circumstance, the Leader has urged the parliamentarians to formulate plans to improve the livelihood of the vulnerable groups and fulfill the economic justice goals.

“Recommendations of experts tell us that the correct path to that goal is a reform of the main lines of national economy, namely employment, production, national currency value, inflation, wastes and so on,” Ayatollah Khamenei noted in the message.

The Leader has also called on the newly-elected lawmakers to follow the Resistance Economy guidelines for lawmaking and consider a drop in crude oil incomes in the financial resources of the administration.

There are 290 seats in the Iranian Parliament. The lawmakers are elected for a 4-year term, with no limitation for the incumbent or former parliamentarians to run again.

The oldest lawmakers have formed a temporary presiding board, while the official presiding board and the next speaker of the Parliament will be elected in the next session.

Latest article