Wednesday, December 7, 2022

Iraqi Parliament Bans American Citizens’ Entry for 90 Days

The Iraqi parliament has approved a "reciprocity measure" after US President Donald Trump's executive order temporarily banning citizens from Iraq and six other Muslim-majority countries from entering the United States.

The ban, adopted by lawmakers at a Monday session of parliament, is to apply to Americans entering Iraq.

Lawmakers Kamil al-Ghrairi and Mohammed Saadoun told The Associated Press that decision is binding for the government. Both say the decision was passed by a majority votes in favor but couldn’t offer specific numbers.

Trump’s order includes a 90-day ban on travel to the US by citizens of Iraq, Syria, Iran, Sudan, Libya, Somalia and Yemen, and a 120-day suspension of the US refugee program.

› Subscribe


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More Articles