Farhadi receives vote of confidence


Iranian MPs overwhelmingly support President Rouhani’s fifth nominee to take charge of the Ministry of Science.

In an open session Wednesday Majlis (parliament) endorsed President Hassan Rouhani’s fifth nominee to head the Ministry of Science, Research and Technology.

The parliamentary session was held in the presence of President Rouhani during which he urged the lawmakers to support his nominee. It was attended by 235 lawmakers and chaired by Speaker Ali Larijani.

The chamber approved Mohammad Farhadi as the minister of science, research and technology with 197 votes in favor, 28 against, and 10 abstentions.

Farhadi needed 50 percent plus one of the votes to become minister.

Last Tuesday, Majlis turned down Rouhani’s fourth nominee Fakhreddin Ahmadi Danesh-Ashtiani.

Danesh-Ashtiani failed to obtain a vote of confidence when 171 lawmakers voted against him, 70 in favor, and 13 abstained.

Emad Askarieh has worked as a journalist since 2002. The main focus of his work is foreign policy and world diplomacy. He started his career at Iran Front Page Media Group, and is currently serving as the World Editor and the Vice-President for Executive Affairs at the Iran Front Page (IFP) news website.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here