Sunday, October 1, 2023

Iran’s New Parliament Opens

New lawmakers attended the first session of the 10th Iranian legislature on Saturday morning, with high-ranking officials in attendance.

The parliamentarians took the oath of office at the opening session, after hearing a message from Leader of the Islamic Revolution Ayatollah Seyyed Ali Khamenei.

President Hassan Rouhani, Chairman of the Expediency Council Ayatollah Akbar Hashemi Rafsanjani, Judiciary Chief Ayatollah Sadeq Amoli Larijani, Chairman of the Assembly of Experts Ayatollah Ahmad Jannati and Chief of the Leader’s Office Staff Hojjatoleslam Mohammad Mohammadi Golpayegani were among the officials present at the meeting.

The new speaker will be also elected on Sunday. The two main figures running for the post are the previous speaker, Ali Larijani, and the renowned reformist politician, Mohammad Reza Aref.

There are 290 seats in the parliament, known in Iran as the Majlis, 8 of which are still vacant.

The parliamentary elections were held on February 26, when more than 60% of some 55 million eligible voters cast their ballots at around 53,000 polling stations across the country.

The run-off votes were held in late April to fill the remaining seats.


› Subscribe


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

More Articles