The historic castle of Shush was constructed in 1897 upon the order of French archaeologist Jean-Marie Jacques de Morgan as a residence for French archaeologists, near the tomb of Daniel the Prophet in the southwestern Iranian city.
For this reason, the French castle is commonly known as the French castle or the castle of de Morgan.
The castle is similar to the Bastille Castle in France. The structure was built by local craftsmen with bricks taken from two other archaeological sites, the Achaemenid Darius castle and the Elamite Choqazanbil ziggurat located in the nearby ancient city of Susa. The plan of the castle is trapezoidal in shape.
The historical castle was registered in 2001 in the list of national heritage of Iran.
The castle was heavily damaged by Iraqi bombs during the 1980s Iran–Iraq war, but has since been completely restored by the Iranian government.
It is now used as a museum and the historical objects as well as tools of the French archeology are kept in it.
Here are photos of the castle retrieved from ISNA:
Washington will know within weeks whether Moscow is serious about pursuing peace with Ukraine, the…
At least 838 people have been killed in road accidents across Iran from the beginning…
The head of National Security and Foreign Policy Commission of Iran's Parliament says Tehran will…
Spokesman for Iran’s Foreign Ministry, Esmail Baqaei, expressed regret over the continued exploitation of human…
The Rabat Qoli Caravanserai, a centuries-old waystation in North Khorasan’s Jajrom County in Iran, stands…
Iran's Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the United Nations in Geneva, Ali Bahraini, denounced the…